I’m just going to apologize in advance

I downloaded Picasa a couple of days ago to organize the 17 kajillion pictures that I’ve collected since I left college. Picasa has this truly magical facial recognition algorithm that pretty much blows my mind.

For example, it recognized both of these pictures as me.

Yeah I was wicked hot in college. No, you cannot go back and ask college Emma for her phone number, as tempting as that sounds. No, I was not stoned - this is just how I looked. No, I no longer wear blue eye shadow and cannot for the life of me remember why I thought it was a good idea.

Modeling my handmade princess necklace from the street faire last summer. Yes, that's really how they spell faire. No, I have no idea why.

Of course, it also thought this was me.

Yeah, it's not. One would hope the beard would be a giveaway. Not that the tiniest sprinter isn't a handsome fellow, of course, and you do have to give them points for recognizing the family resemblance.

So yeah, that one kind of makes sense. This one, though….

My uncle Jeff. Not, as far as I've ever noticed, looking much like me.

To summarize, Picasa’s facial recognition algorithms are both magical and occasionally kind of insulting.

It has, however, helped me locate every single picture of my dear girls.

Could they be any more adorable? That's a rhetorical question, of course.

This is where the apology in the title line comes in. Maida, the one on the right, currently smells like something crawled into her stomach and died. If I could swap her for the non-stinky version I remember from that picture, I would do it in a split second.

I have been so lucky with Cloey these past eight years, but I think it might be time to call a vet and find out what the whole anal gland squeezing is about. Yeah, I just said anal, gland, and squeezing in one sentence.

Again, I apologize.

2 Comments

Filed under girl geek, it's hard being this beautiful, the people I love

2 responses to “I’m just going to apologize in advance

  1. Brilliant. I love Picasa and have been using it for years, but haven’t touched it in quite a while. I had no idea they had added this face recognition capability. So thanks for the head’s up!

    I now must go try to scrub my brain clean of the last part of your post…

    • emmanation

      Yeah, I know. I’m sorry. How horrible is it that I found relief in forcing everyone else to be aware of the grossness? I’m a bad person.

Leave a Reply

