it’s not your fault you’re always wrong

I know, I know, I promised a best of the naughties people (giggle) post yesterday. I am a horrible terrible slacker, because I’m not going to do it at all.

True story.

In it’s stead, I’m going to talk about this: BeautifulPeople.com.

Don’t get all hasty about clicking the link right now – the only beautiful people you’ll see immediately are these two, because the site has been so inundated with visitors after a recent piece of news that you can’t get past the first page.

I'm willing to bet they're not actually members. Just a guess.

Have you found yourself unable to get a date by actually meeting people in real life, but unwilling to try online dating because you’re sure everyone will be just plain ugly? BeautifulPeople.com feels your pain, so they created a dating site just for you.

Merely click and create a profile that contains nothing but your name, age, gender, and country of residence. Oh, and a photo, of course. Sit back and wait 72 hours for members of the opposite sex (apparently there are no GayPeople on BeautifulPeople) to give you a thumbs up or a thumbs down, using just the profile photo you uploaded. If you get a certain amount of thumbs up – you’re in! If not, don’t worry – according to managing director Greg Hodge, 80% of people who apply don’t get accepted.

Of course, if you ARE a part of the lucky 20% that is considered beautiful enough, you better be careful what you eat. They just kicked out 5,000 members because of holiday weight gain.

I’m so not kidding.

Of course, I’m planning an infiltration. How could I not be? I want to see what these beautiful people look like. I want to see how much weight gain it took to get booted, and how often you’re required to post a new photo – I can’t imagine that 5000 people who prided themselves on their self described beauty thought ‘hm, I’ve put on a couple of pounds – I should take a pic and show all my beautiful friends!’.

I applied. I’m sort of hanging my head in shame, but if I get in, expect all the juicy details.

This was the picture that I thought best fit in with what I’m guessing is their aesthetic. If it isn’t found beautiful enough, I’ll need to borrow someone’s photoshop skills. And someone’s photo, please. Failing that, I can just buy all of the male members several beers.

“According to BeautifulPeople.com, ”vigilant members” called for drastic action after users posted photos of themselves celebrating Christmas and the New Year – revealing they had ”let themselves go”.

Managing director Greg Hodge said: ”We responded to complaints by moving the newly chubby members back to the rating stage. This is the same as having them re-apply.

”Their re-applications were reviewed by existing members and only a few hundred were voted back in. Over 5,000 were rejected.””

Ridiculous. Fat and beautiful are not exclusive, ‘vigilant members’. You want to see just two of the many millions of reasons I know that?

Mmhmm. Yeah. That’s what I thought.

Photo from V’s size issue, which will be released Jan 14th. Click the picture to see more of these lovely ladies.

1 Comment

Filed under I'm a cranky brat, it's all about me, it's hard being this beautiful, turns out I'm a feminist

One response to “it’s not your fault you’re always wrong

  1. Dad

    I just clicked on their website and the picture of the couple that came up?…… Hmmmm, she’s OK but he’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

