Quick, say something funny

I do this horrible thing to the boy where I turn to him and say ‘tell me something interesting’. He hates it and to my recollection has never actually responded with anything except ‘why would you do that to me? Now I can’t think of anything!’

I’m baffled by this. Partially because I have soooo many things to say that I have to turn to blogging and tweeting just to get them all out, and partially because someone is giving you free rein to tell them whatever you want. If he asked me, I’d tell him some of the things that I always meant to tell him but never got around to – like the time I saw a real gorilla in the backseat of a car in Golden, or how I think that him being in the car with me when I get pulled over guarantees I’ll get a ticket.

The car was significantly less cool and there was no Pink Panther, but you can see my point.

However, I’ve recently started whoring (ahem… is that the word I mean to use? Um.. yes, yes I think it is) my blog out a little bit more than I used to. I participated in Final Girl’s Film Club, and now I’m jumping on board Temerity Jane’s People Who Comment project. I’m also participating in NaBloPoMo, in case you didn’t catch that.

(Speaking of Film Club, the tiniest sprinter-yes I said yes-sosovelo-emmanation-and-friends film club has a new selection! Blood Freak. It’s due Nov 9th and when asked about the film years after it’s release, the writer referred to it as “a sad chapter in my life.” If that doesn’t make you want to participate, I don’t know what will.)

Anyhow. After jumping on all these ‘look at me’ bandwagons, I’m starting to see the boy’s problem. Nothing quite like being on the spot to completely dry up any well of awesomeness you may have, at one point, had. Even if you put yourself on said spot.

The moral of this post is twofold.

1) I do not always like the things that I do to myself, even when they are things that I totally want to do.

2) I will accept suggestions on interesting/funny/awesome/embarrassing blogging subjects to help me get through NaBloPoMo. Leave your ideas in the comments, email them at emmanationblog [at] gmail.com, or if you are related to me and therefore have my phone number, call me. Seriously people, there are 26 days left in November. Twenty. Six. Help.

7 Comments

Filed under girl geek, I have a pop culture problem, it's all about me, my happiness project, nablopomo, wherein I participate in other blogs

7 responses to “Quick, say something funny

  1. toestor

    off-the-wall blog subjects:

    Nov 9: German re-unification, fall of the wall (20 yr anniversary) … A Gen-Y view on cold war?

    … uhm, maybe not, but how about this:

    Nov 10: Sesame Street 40 yr anniversary: favorite character fictitious interview?

  2. Pops

    1st – “The boy”? I mean “THE BOY”????? WTF?

    2nd – Tell “the boy” that yabba dabba dooo is a perfectly acceptable answer to that question.

    3 – Chimpanzees are killers but Bonobos (their close cousins) settle most arguments by screwing. Hmmmm….

  3. Hi Emma. I’m over here from TJ’s commenting post. I’m participating to make myself comment more and also to find some new blogs to read so your blog is my choice for today’s challenge. Why did I choose your blog out of the three listed today? You are drinking in wine in your header picture (or is it champagne? Either way, HI!)

    I’ve also recently decided to start writing more and all of a sudden have a major brain block too, so I can sympathize.

    I haven’t read all your archives, but how about a post of where you were in the picture in your header? It looks lovely.

    Cheers!

    • emmanation

      Lara! Welcome to my blog :). Thanks for choosing me! I am in Napa Valley in that header and damn straight I’m going to write about Napa. You too are a genius. I’m seriously never going to pick my own blog topics ever again.

Leave a Reply

