and I would walk 500 miles

I’m back at work. Hence, minimal feminist blog reading and a slightly less pissed off Emma. Everybody wins except the bloggers I love so much.

I still don’t feel great, but I just did something I’m very proud of. I took all of my pissed offedness, I channeled it into some constructive requests, and I sat down with my boss. Lo and behold, I have a new responsibility that is, as one of my many mentors put it,  a ‘thankless clusterfuck’. You know what, though? It’s my thankless clusterfuck, and I will gladly take it. Anyway, I think he’s exaggerating because … well, that’s the kind of person he is. Yes, this responsibility is a mess, but that’s because everyone is paying attention to it but no one owns it. No longer, darlings – Emma is on the case.

Annyyyhow. Some other things that are making me happy to be alive today.

  • I called my doctors office to make an appointment for a regular old (girly parts) checkup, and I got a voicemail that said ‘many of our employees are out sick. Please leave a message and we’ll return your call as soon as we’re able.’ This may be the end of the world via swine flu, folks, and I’m pretty sure I just survived it. Yay. And yes, it’s awful that I think it’s cool that people are sick. Let me have my moment.
  • I’m torn on my halloween costume.
    Coraline or....

    Coraline or....

    Yuki?

  • My darling bff just read Twilight for the first time and was embarrassed to tell me, but broke down and spilled. She was all prepared to talk me into giving it a shot, but I confessed that I too devoured (poor choice of words in this situation?) all four books in a two week period. We then spent twenty minutes giggling on the phone like a couple of Twihards while her two year old burbled to herself in the background.
  • I look SUPER cute today.
  • I just got an app for my iPhone that tracks all of my outfits and when I wore them. Yes, I’m a gigantic nerd – we’ve covered this. I get to name each outfit and I have some seriously fabulous names. Here is a mere sample:
Today I'm wearing Schoolgirl. You can't see it in this shot, but my personal favorite is Hot Dog with Mustard. It's actually a damn cute outfit, name notwithstanding.

Today I'm wearing Schoolgirl. You can't see it in this shot, but my personal favorite is Hot Dog with Mustard. It's actually a damn cute outfit, name notwithstanding.

That’s all. If you haven’t read the tiniest sprinter’s most recent race report, here’s a spoiler: he fell on his face but makes it funny. Also, if you have any love for animals at all – dear god do NOT read the P.S.S.

Muah.

1 Comment

Filed under I make lists, it's all about me, it's hard being this beautiful, my happiness project, things I think are pretty, work

One response to “and I would walk 500 miles

  1. yesisaidyes

    In the same vein as the p.s.s., keep your distance from today’s NYT editorial page if your love for animals goes anywhere near the first amendment.

Leave a Reply

