feel the rain on your skin

I cannot believe I have not written about this yet. So awhile ago (ok, January 2007 so kind of a long time ago) I posted about how a couple of major fashion cities were setting a lower limit on the BMI a model could have. If your BMI was under 18, no runway for you. However, London and New York were not interested.

How far we’ve come.

Witness, my sisters, and rejoice. And then go eat some cake. Oh wait, I’ve been vegan for two and a half days. Ok – you go eat cake, I’ll go eat vegan cake.

Lizzie Miller, prominently featured on page 194 of the September issue of Glamour.

Lizzie Miller, prominently featured on page 194 of the September issue of Glamour.

Kate Dillion, one of several plus sized models who will be featured in the October issue of Glamour.

Kate Dillion, one of several plus sized models who will be featured in the November issue of Glamour.

Ashley Graham, who will also be in Novembers Glamour.

Ashley Graham, who will also be in November's Glamour.

As much as I would love to continue posting images of beautiful women with bigger boobs than me (yes, my breast obsession is coming back – blame Mad Men), I can’t because I don’t have a full list. As I understand it, though, there will be at least three or four plus size models in addition to the ones I’ve shown above.

There are a couple of key points here. First, yes, I am aware that some of these women are an 8 or a 10 and that is not plus size in the real world. I’m being optimistic, ok? Seeing more body types may start to mean loving more body types – if our medias definition of what’s beautiful is starting to widen I say two enthusiastic thumbs up.

Second, the reason that Glamour is being so trailblazing about this is because of the GREAT reaction they got to Miss Lizzie Miller, the first woman pictured above. Her little belly pouch and happy smile got Glamour more fan mail than they’ve received regarding any other single picture ever.

We are not a nation of 6′, 125 lb women, and apparently our print media is starting to take notice. At least a little bit of it. Yay.

Runways are also making a teensy bit of progress, although not everyone is a fan. When Mark Fast, a designer, opted to use size 14 models in his show at London fashion week his designer and stylist quit. Seriously. He used the women anyway and they looked fab, so I seriously hope that designer and stylist are currently kicking themselves. Brats.

Anyway – it makes me sad when everything in the world seems to be trying to indicate that some kind of person is not good enough. I think this helps. Yay.

2 Comments

Filed under it's hard being this beautiful, turns out I'm a feminist

2 responses to “feel the rain on your skin

  1. 54

    while i’d like to say that i’m happy to see more real life depictions of women in the mass media, the cynic in me points out that only three of the runway models in the show were “plus-sized” (a loaded term in itself). the media attention that the one show garnered was immense! before i want to congratulate mark fast for putting an ill-fitting dress on a size 14 frame, i’d like to point out that the rest of the casting was all of caucasian models. diversity comes in all shapes and sizes, right?

    until the ubiquity of self-critical body image is stopped being spread through media and language, gendered notions of beauty will not quickly change. a few plus-sized models strutting down a runway or being featured in a magazine a cultural revolution does not make.

  2. emmanation

    I completely agree with your points – in this particular case I guess I’m just seeing a bunch of white models of different sizes as better than a bunch of white models of one tiny size, even though neither is ideal.
    I know that Glamour’s November spread will have the same issue. There is no doubt work to be done, but baby steps are better than no steps.

Leave a Reply

