the sky is falling, the sky is falling

Oh my god you guys! Twilight comes out on video tonight! Or today.. or tomorrow. I’m not really sure, to be honest. But it’s going to be here soon, and I’m wondering if I should see it.

I’ve read all the books, although I honestly can’t say I was crazy about any of them. If they’d taken more than a 3-4 hour investment each, I wouldn’t have touched them. Mostly because Bella is a snivelling, dependent little brat who doesn’t do anything but worry and mope for the first three and a half books.

Example: “He, for some unfathomable reason, wanted to be with me. Anything he gave me on top of that just threw us more out of balance.” She’s like that allllll the time.

Here’s another: “I didn’t have to look to know who it was; this was a voice I would know anywhere—know, and respond to, whether I was awake or asleep… or even dead, I’d bet. The voice I’d walk through fire for—or, less dramatically, slosh every day through the cold and endless rain for.” I just want to shake her and say ‘get your own damn life, you silly silly little girl’.

However.

  1. Stephanie Meyer was the biggest selling author of 08, with Twilight being the #1 book.
  2. The movie made $70 million it’s first weekend, which is the biggest opening on a female directed film ever.
  3. In it’s opening weekend, at one point Fandango was selling 5 tickets per second.
  4. It’s the second least expensive movie in the top 30 openers of all time – the only one cheaper was The Passion of the Christ, and I’m sure as hell not watching that one. I like that it was cheap though. Who knows why.

I realize these are all just proof that other people liked it, which for some people would actually be a reason NOT to see it. I am generally irritated by the “lowest common denominator” theory though – that being the idea that if  lot of people like something it must suck. My ex-boyfriend’s band used that theory whenever pop music entered a discussion. But ya know what? Most people are cool. I like most people. Therefore, if most people like something – I personally think it’s worth at least checking out.

So…. I guess I’ll rent it. That is, if there are any copies available that won’t require me to beat the hell out of a fanggirl to get it.

Leave a comment

Filed under I have a pop culture problem

Leave a Reply

