anyone else but you

A very good friend of mine is (literally, as I type) torturing me with a list of all of the things that make him hard to be in a relationship with. It’s an interesting exercise, to be sure, albeit sort of a self-flagellating one.

Of course, it’s making me wonder if I could generate such a list.  I started thinking about it, and here’s what I came up with.

  • My almost unbearable adorableness
  • My wonderful baking
  • My perfectly behaved dogs
  • My sweet and loving attitude

Clearly, I’m not good at this.

Seriously, I could probably come up with some, but they definitely vary by person, right? I mean, some people would find these deal breakers but some probably won’t even understand why they’re on the list. For example:

  • My ability to go to the video store for a quality, thought provoking film and come back with a truly crappy horror movie
  • My very inconsistent approach to housework – sometimes I must clean up right now, no matter what we’re in the middle of, and sometimes I leave messes for days
  • My insistence on reading in any and all downtime (including commercial breaks)
  • My tendency to turn the television on when I walk in the door and leave it on until I go to bed
  • My basic inability to sleep in past 7:30
  • My lackluster approach towards grocery shopping that leads to eating toast with marmalade and cheese for the majority of my meals

Mmmmm – yeah, that’s about it. I’d still date me.

1 Comment

Filed under dating is fun!, I make lists, it's all about me

One response to “anyone else but you

  1. Brian (from twitter)

    I am the exact same way with cleaning. I’m totally erratic about it. I’ll leave a mess for a week, and then suddenly become a whirling dervish of cleaning wizardry. And then I get distracted by my movie collection or computer chess or a cloud. Some people are very consistent with cleaning but I just can’t do that.

    I also like reading all the time, but I’m more of an online news and magazine type person. I admit that I still love comic books too. Dear god.

    I’m ok with groceries, but I find that I end up eating cereal 2-3 times a day…and I always get distracted by the grocery store’s mediocre-yet-somehow-enchanting DVD selection. I think I have some serious attention-deficit problems, haha.

Leave a Reply

