my happiness project

I just recently started reading a blog called The Happiness Project. Since the title kinda says it all, I won’t explain it to you. I’ve decided to start my own. I’ve made a mental list of what my own project will consist of, but I’m not going to throw it all down right now – what’s a blog without a lil suspense, huh? I do know pretty clearly what makes me happy, so all I need to do is make those things a bigger part of my life. Simple, right? I’ll keep you updated on how it’s going – I’m going to attempt at least one happiness action item a week. This week I’ll do two – the first will be to never use the phrase ‘happiness action item’ ever again.

Cakebread wine makes me happy, as do cute hats.

Cakebread wine makes me happy, as do cute hats.

Up this week? Limiting my facebook friends to actual friends. 

Why is this going to make me happy? Mostly because this way I won’t have to see ‘Frank is driving to Mexico’ or ‘JoAnne is snuggling with her baby’ anymore. Yes, I realize that those are not particularly irritating statements on their own. However, when Frank and JoAnne are people that I, say, went to college with and didn’t even like then, getting Frank’s city-by-city update of his trip from upstate NY to Mexico gets a little old. And dude, how many times can you talk about your baby in your status?!?! These women are the reason childless women are afraid to become mothers! I made these people up (just now, I’m so creative) but you can see my point.

Now that I’ve done my winnowing, I realized how many people I was facebook friends with for no good reason.  Here is a brief play-by-play of what I just went through:

JV: I do not know who this person is. Literally. Not a clue. DELETE.

JF: Um, I may have kissed him at a bar several months ago. Maybe. Unless that was someone else. DELETE.

JM: Yeah, definitely kissed him at a bar. In Chicago. Several years ago. How on earth did he even find me on here? DELETE.

I’m not making these initials up, btw… do I have a secret problem with J’s? I hope not! Also, note to self – stop kissing strangers in bars.

The $1000 martini.... maybe thats why I was kissing them. If not it damn well should have been.

The $1000 martini.... maybe that's why I was kissing them. If not it damn well should have been.

JC: This was a friend of my little brother, and I didn’t even like him in high school. DELETE.

HD: Girlfriend who broke my brothers heart. WTF. DELETE.

NM: Kid in high school who actually used to hit me. DELETE.

SP, TB, MC, CP, AC: People I work with and do not know well enough to start up a conversation if we’re walking down the same hallway. I have no objection to these people. I even like them, what I know of them! However, I seriously doubt they want to know that I am currently “reading a liveblog of He’s Just Not That Into You on Jezebel.com“. Or that last night I made cookies. Or that yesterday I was smitten. Etc. Etc. 

DC: Again, who is this? I must have either accepted or requested this person as a friend. Was I unconcious? Have I been hacked? If so, that’s a pathetic thing for the hacker to do… DELETE.

I could go on, but the gist is this: I was a friend-accepting-facebook-slut. No longer. I can now happily add things like my phone number to my profile, because everyone on it is someone I wouldn’t mind talking to.

Happiness project 1, done. I feel smilier already.

1 Comment

Filed under my happiness project

One response to “my happiness project

  1. Pingback: Oh Self Ignition « emmanation

Leave a Reply

