Real Beauty

Tuesday, March 06, 2007

So I’ve been impressed with Dove’s Real Beauty Campaign.  If you’re not familiar, the website is here.  They have a few different commercials.  The most recent shows beautiful women who have to be 50 plus, of different sizes and colors, naked, and says they’re too old for an anti-aging ad.  At the end it says ‘we’re not anti-age, we’re pro-age’ or something to that effect.
Previous commercials have shown younger women of various sizes and colors looking and feeling good.  It’s a great series of ads, it really is, and I just read women are approving by buying more – Dove’s sales have gone up consistently since the campaign began.

So…. here’s my problem.  Dove is a brand of Unilever.  Know what other brands Unilever has?  Ultra Slimfast, for one. Ha.  But the one that really slays me? Axe – the body spray?  Those ads are among the most misogynistic on television right now.  They feature stick thin women, frequently foreign or underage, losing control and dropping their clothes after one sniff of the body spray.  The same company that shows strong, gorgeous, confident women on one channel is showing us as undersized and incapable of speech and self control on another.

I’m not impressed anymore.

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under before I got hip to wordpress, turns out I'm a feminist

3 responses to “Real Beauty

  1. Realizing and understanding that your post was almost 3 years ago, I just wanted to let you know that companies within one parent company usually are completely independent of one another. So while Unilever may own both Dove and Axe, I can say with confidence that their management structures are separate from each other. My only argument is that you can still be happy with Dove and purchase their products, while protesting by not purchasing any other Unilever products. Don’t discredit Dove for something they had no hand in. Just my two cents.. take it or leave it. 🙂

    • emmanation

      No, I do appreciate that. My understanding of corporate structure is definitely shallow. However, if I buy Dove, aren’t my dollars eventually lining the coffer of the people who think Axe is a good idea?
      P.S. I’ve always wanted to say ‘lining the coffer’. Thanks for giving me the opportunity!

      • Ultimately what you say is true, but I’d like to believe that Dove will get the majority of those linings and put it to good use for things like their “Real Beauty” campaign. Corporations have really gotten too large. It’s too hard to see the full scope of where the money goes. Ultimately we are all lining some rich guy’s pockets with pretty much anything we buy. But it’s nice to see ‘something’ good come of some of those dollars. But I digress…

Leave a Reply

