Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again

Monday, October 22, 2007

So I just finished this book called Rebecca.  I’m trying to stay awake tonight and I am already so damn tired! 

It’s about a woman who is married to a man whose first wife was named … wait for it, Rebecca de Winters.  The new wife (who remains nameless throughout the novel) commits a series of faux pas orchestrated by Mr. de Winter’s housekeeper Mrs. Danvers, who is trying to convince him that he made a mistake marrying the new girl.

I have to say, the whole novel felt like something of a cosmic joke.  An inside joke. Just me and the cosmos. 

Of course, it turned out that Mr. de Winters killed Rebecca because she was a lying whore.

Huh.

Leave a comment

Filed under before I got hip to wordpress, I have a pop culture problem, it's all about me

Leave a Reply

